EWHC Lynne O’Day Scholarship at Marian University

ODay In 1992, a group of executive women in the health care industry in Indianapolis considered the need for a group that could provide ongoing professional development, networking and education to its members.
It was then that Executive Women in Healthcare (EWHC) came to be.  It was the spirit of these original goals of leadership, education and making a difference for women in health care that led to the creation of the EWHC Lynne O’Day Scholarship Fund, to honor the memory of Lynne O’Day, a senior leader at St. Vincent Indianapolis until her retirement in 2005.

[olimometer id=1]

Lynne was an active supporter, fundraiser, and board member of EWHC for many years.  She had an influence on many female leaders in our local healthcare community via her role with St. Vincent and various community healthcare organizations, sitting on the Board of Directors for the Gennesaret Free Clinics, St. Elizabeth/Coleman, Marquette Manor, the VNA, Ovar’Coming Together, and numerous other women focused health care organizations.

Lynne was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer and died shortly thereafter, in August of 2010.  Prior to Lynne’s death, the EWHC board was considering establishing a scholarship to assist the development of young, female professionals who are pursuing a career in healthcare leadership.  After Lynne’s death the group posthumously named the scholarship in Lynne’s honor and aligned the goals with her dedication and commitment to Marian University where she received her Bachelor of Science degree in nursing and served on the university’s Board of Trustees from 1989 to 2006.

The EWHC Lynne O’Day Scholarship Fund will be an endowed fund that will sustain itself into the future.  EWHC has committed to raising at least $25,000.  EWHC has already contributed the first $5,000.  To date we have raised over $80,000.  A special thanks to our donors – click here to view the list.

DSC_0082Please consider assisting EWHC continue Lynne’s dream of helping young women in Indiana achieve their educational goals by giving a gift to the EWHC Lynne O’Day Scholarship Fund.  Help create our future leaders.

To donate, you can  mail with a check to Marian University, Office of Institutional Advancement, 3200 Cold Spring Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46222-1997.  Please be sure to indicate in the comments section at the bottom of the form that your donation is for the EWHC Lynne O’Day Scholarship.

Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/ on line 31